US Government Website Running Chinese Malware!
This is either a very big deal – or it’s really nothing at all.
The other day while trying to find out how to register my half-breed children as US Citizens, I followed a link from one US government site to another US government site. Instead of getting the site I expected, though, I got a warning from Google’s Safebrowsing thingy saying the the site I was trying to reach had been compromised and was infecting users with malware. Some of the malware in question is hosted on a .cn domain – which may or may not mean anything.
Here’s the actual text from the Google Safebrowsing page:
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for www.consular.canada.usembassy.gov
What is the current listing status for www.consular.canada.usembassy.gov?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 8 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 1 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2008-12-06, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2008-12-06.
Malicious software includes 1 scripting exploit(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 0 new processes on the target machine.
Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including wowxman.com/, dbios.org/, yrwap.cn/.
1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including yrwap.cn/.
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, www.consular.canada.usembassy.gov did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
I'm no internet security expert, but this can't be a good thing, right?
ShareRelated posts:
- Index first, rank later!
- Excluding Search Engines from Geo-Targetting Techniques
- Twitterbowl Analysis
- Google makes a change that just makes sense
- A Website for the NoProrogue Movement
Colin Who?
I'm a digital communications executive specializing in community engagement, social marketing, and online identity management currently serving asthe Associate Secretary, Communications, at the national offices of The Presbyterian Church in Canada.
I can be found on LinkedIn and Twitter and Facebook.
What I’ve Said
- Campaign Information
- Exciting News
- The Revolutionary Aspect of Technology is its Ownership
- Cambridge Reporter Revisited
- Clay Shirky on Institutions vs. Collaboration
- On The Twitter This Week: 2010-02-06
- Facebook just keeps growing (with grey hair)
- Pranav Mistry on SixthSense Technology (TED Tuesday)
- On The Twitter This Week: 2010-01-30
- On The Twitter This Week: 2010-01-23
What You’ve Said
- Name22 on WordPress Image Handling Sucks (WP Wednesday)
- C Campbell on The Revolutionary Aspect of Technology is its Ownership
- Evangeline on The Revolutionary Aspect of Technology is its Ownership
- S. Sinclair on The Revolutionary Aspect of Technology is its Ownership
- Alex MacLeod on Cambridge Reporter Revisited
- @rdjfraser on Clay Shirky on Institutions vs. Collaboration
- links for 2010-02-05 : Being Presbyterian on Facebook just keeps growing (with grey hair)
- Arminta on Beautiful Decay
- Travis Jon Allison on Beautiful Decay
- Sarah on Beautiful Decay
Categories
- General Interest Stuff (20)
- Local Stuff (5)
- Mobile Post (6)
- Personal Stuff (39)
- Political Stuff (4)
- Random Stuff (36)
- Social Media Stuff (119)
- The Commute (9)
- Twitter Updates (19)
- Web Stuff (2)
December 9th, 2008 - 00:06
The US Gov’t needs to hire script kiddies to keep the other script kiddies away. ;-)